Header

March/April 2017

---

2017 Street Photography print competition

 

Our next Print Competition theme is “Street Photography” and we will continue have themes for our Online Completions every other month.  Street photography, also sometimes called candid photography, is photography conducted for art or enquiry that features unmediated chance encounters and random incidents within public places.  It is the art of capturing life, culture, and humanity, in a candid manner. Prints due at the February general meeting on Tuesday, April 4th. Read more.

---

Ozark Photographic Challenge

 

The Ozark Photographic Challenge Print Competition allows photographers to submit their best 8×10 ~ 8×12 prints for a chance at top honors! Awards are announced at the Mid-America Photography Symposium, Deadline for print submission is May 1, 2017. Read More.

---

Upcoming Events

How to Take Photographs Using Composite Techniques

PSNWA Gallery & Studios

207 NE 2nd St., Bentonville, Arkansas, 72712

March 23, 2017 - 7:00-9:00 p.m.

Read more

 

March Madness Fashion Session

PSNWA Gallery & Studios

207 NE 2nd St., Bentonville, Arkansas, 72712

March 25, 2017 - 6:00-10:00 p.m.

Read more

 

March Nature Division Meeting

Whole Hog Cafe Fayetteville

3009 N College Ave, Fayetteville, AR 72703

March 28, 2018 - 7:00-8:30 p.m.

Read more

 

Flowers in the Studio - Mini Class

PSNWA Gallery & Studios

207 NE 2nd St., Bentonville, Arkansas, 72712

March 30, 2017 7:00-8:30 p.m.

Read more

 

Flowers in the Studio

PSNWA Gallery & Studios

207 NE 2nd St., Bentonville, Arkansas, 72712

April 1, 2017 2:00-5:00 p.m.

Read more

 

Photoshop Study Group

PSNWA Gallery & Studios

207 NE 2nd St., Bentonville, Arkansas, 72712

April 20, 2017 - 7:00-9:00 p.m.

Read more

 

Dogpatch Night Shoot / Workshop

3 Dogpatch Blvd, Marble Falls, Arkansas, 72648

April 21, 2017 (7:00 pm) - April 23, 2017

Lodging is available Friday and Saturday nights at the Buffalo River Artists Lodge. Read more for the full itinerary. Contact Melissa Jones if you have any questions.

 

April Nature Division Meeting

Whole Hog Cafe Bentonville

1400 SE Walton Blvd #46, Bentonville, AR

April 25, 2018 - 6:30-8:30 p.m.

 

Introduction to Exposure Triangle

PSNWA Gallery & Studios

207 NE 2nd St., Bentonville, Arkansas, 72712

April 27, 2017 - 7:00-9:00 p.m.

Read more

 

Kayaking: How to manager gear

Hobbs State Park Conservation Center

20201 East Hwy. 12, Rogers, Arkansas, 72756

April 29, 2017 - 6:30am-12:00 p.m.

Read more

 

Introduction to Exposure Triangle Workshop Part 1 & 2

PSNWA Gallery & Studios

207 NE 2nd St., Bentonville, Arkansas, 72712

April 29, 2017 - 9:00am-12:00 p.m.

Read more

 

Mid-America Photography Symposium (MAPSym)

Eureka Springs, Arkansas

May 19-21, 2017 - Save the Date!! 

Mark your calendar!

• Registration is now open!! On the MAPSym website

• See MAPSym Discount Code for a special PSNWA discount (also see the photo rebate opportunity)

• Be sure to ask for the Mid-America Photography Symposium discount when booking your room at the Best Western Inn of the Ozarks

---

Black & White Print Competition Winners

Craig Underwood

Mickey Arlow

 

Mark K. Bryant

---

Online Competition Winners

January winner: 

Winter Grove by Matthew Parks

---

February winner:

Dark Alley by Craig Underwood

---

Previous Events

---

Photographing Trail Trees

PSNWA members took a trip to Hobbs State Park to learn about Trail Trees and photograph a few in the park.

Photo by Jeremy TenHaken‎

---

Eagle Boat Tour

PSNWA took an Eagle Boat Tour sponsored by Hobbs State Park. The tour took members into the uninhabited shore lines of Hobbs State Park. Read more.

---

Other Updates

---

Darkroom

Thanks to the following donations:

• Sean Doyle Estate for darkroom $1500 approximate value

• Veda Gonzalez - chemistry and paper, film and accessories, approximate value $350

• Plumbing for darkroom was donated to PSNWA

Thanks to the volunteers who spend several weekends constructing the darkroom at the PSNWA studio:

• John Baltz

• Daryl Chappell

• Cleeo Wright

• Scott Brown

---

Membership cards

If you recently renewed your membership, there was an issue with the card order.  As soon as the new cards are received they will be mailed out.

If you need to use your discount at Bedford's before your new card arrives, just tell them you are with PSNWA and they can look you up.

---

Interested in getting more involved?  

PSNWA is looking for volunteers to help with the Exhibits (at the PSNWA studio, Bedfords, etc). If you are interested, contact Daryl Chappell / Ron Housch for more information.

PSNWA is also looking for a Community Service Coordinator to help organize events and outreach to non-profits.  If you are interested, contact Chuck Davis.

---

Do you know any photographers needing a studio?

A lot of volunteer work has gone into the remodeling of the new PSNWA Studio & Gallery. It is a great place for any PSNWA member to practice the art of photography.  An extended studio membership is available to you for only $75.00 a month and includes everything you need except for your camera and subject. This is an amazing opportunity for you to take full advantage of a professional studio your photography interests.  Read more.

---

Ready to exhibit your work?

 

PSNWA has many up-coming opportunities to exhibit the work of our members in various galleries and displays throughout Northwest Arkansas.  If you are ready to have a showing of your work, then we want to hear from you. PSNWA members continue to post great work on our Facebook pages as well as those submitted for Print and Online Competitions.  There is a lot of

talent in the society and we want to show it off! Please consider being a part of that experience. For more information contact Ron Housch.

 

---
---

PSNWA Board Members

Executive Chairperson    

Daryl Chappell                      daryl.chappell@psnwa.org

 

Vice-Chairperson

Ron Housch                          ron.housch@psnwa.org

 

Secretary/Treasurer

John Baltz                            john.baltz@psnwa.org

 

Membership

Ken Johnson                         ken.johnson@psnwa.org

 

Continuing Education

Cynthia Cooper                     cynthia.cooper@psnwa.org

 

Events

Cleeo Wright                         cleeo.wright@psnwa.org

 

Facility Management

Bob Coleman                        bob.coleman@psnwa.org

 

Competitions

Janie Blanchard                     janie.blanchard@psnwa.org

 

Exhibits

---                                       ---

 

Publicity

Melissa Jones                        melissa.jones@psnwa.org

 

Publications

Brad Maxwell                        brad.maxwell@psnwa.org

 

Development & Community Service

Chuck Davis                         chuck.davis@psnwa.org

 

Parliamentarian

Wendy Dunn                        wendy.dunn@psnwa.org